This meeting took place in 2015

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
Noncoding RNAs: Mechanism, Function and Therapies (A1)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Long Noncoding RNAs: From Evolution to Function (C7)

Organizer(s) Leonard Lipovich, Jeannie T. Lee, John L. Rinn and James (Ben) Brown
March 15—20, 2015
Keystone Resort • Keystone, Colorado USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Nov 18, 2014
Abstract Deadline: Dec 16, 2014
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 18, 2014
Discounted Registration Deadline: Jan 15, 2015

Sponsored by Cell Research, Isis Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and Sarepta Therapeutics

Summary of Meeting:
It has become clear that metazoan genomes are replete with transcription from non-protein-coding regions, generating many long noncoding RNA (lncRNA) transcripts. Recent progress has enabled genome-wide mapping of lncRNAs and has unraveled unifying themes; lncRNAs function as epigenetic regulators, scaffolds, decoys, and enhancers. While these and other themes have been pursued in several meetings, the field has matured in numerous novel directions; the meeting leverages these to characterize lncRNAs comprehensively across metazoan genomes. The aim is to broaden our horizons with emerging data from humans and model systems, empowered by novel genomic technologies, including RNA-protein interaction mapping (CLIP- and RIP-seq), reverse genetics for lncRNAs not conserved in evolution (RNA sequencing in control and lncRNA-perturbed backgrounds), and proteogenomics to empirically bound the translational output of putative lncRNAomes. These topics have recently amassed diverse insights into RNA biology. The meeting should integrate novel findings, enhance previously proposed models of lncRNA function and generate new testable hypotheses. Synthesis of RNA structure, function, evolution and informatics will foster progress in this rapidly growing field.

View Meeting Program


Biosearch Technologies Scholarship Recipients

Marina Barriocanal
University of Navarra - FIMA, Spain

Nenad Bartonicek
Garvan Institute of Medical Research, Australia

Katelin R. Haynes
University of Queensland Diamantina Institute, Australia

Ashley R. Hoover
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, USA

Kevin G. Nyberg
University of Maryland, College Park, USA

Anna Roth
German Cancer Research Center, DKFZ, Germany

Karyn Schmidt
Alnylam Pharmaceuticals, USA

Sarah Vergult
Ghent University, Belgium

Ya-Ping Yen
Academia Sinica, Taiwan

Juan Zhang
Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine, Germany

Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Zhuo Zhou
NIDDK, National Institutes of Health, USA

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Jessica Monique Silva-Fisher
Washington University in St. Louis, USA

National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)/National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) Scholarship Recipients

Luis Arnes
Columbia University, USA

Maina Bitar
QIMR Berghofer MRI, Brazil

Fabien Dachet
University of Illinois at Chicago School of Medicine, USA

Emily R. Feldman
University of Florida, USA

Boris Guennewig
Garvan Institute of Medical Research, Australia

Rohit Malik
University of Michigan, USA

Yashar Niknafs
University of Michigan, USA