This meeting took place in 2016

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
HIV Pathogenesis and Cure (X6)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

HIV Persistence: Pathogenesis and Eradication (X7)

Organizer(s) David M. Margolis, Satya Dandekar and Susana T. Valente
March 20—24, 2016
Resort at Squaw Creek • Olympic Valley, CA USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Nov 19, 2015
Abstract Deadline: Dec 17, 2015
Scholarship Deadline: Nov 19, 2015
Discounted Registration Deadline: Jan 21, 2016

Sponsored by Gilead Sciences, Inc., Merck & Co., Inc. and Sangamo BioSciences, Inc. Part of the Keystone Symposia Global Health Series, supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Joint Meeting: HIV Vaccines (X8)

Summary of Meeting:
Despite the clinical success of antiretroviral therapy (ART), every day there are more people newly infected with HIV than those initiating ART. The complexities of dispensing lifelong ART for HIV-infected individuals make it imperative to develop strategies for HIV eradication, or at least to strictly control the virus without daily therapy. The clearance of a retroviral infection is a herculean task and requires unraveling the mechanisms of viral persistence and host immune interactions. Further, ART does not appear to completely mitigate the impact of HIV infection on human health, and a better understanding of the overt and subtle immune pathologies induced by HIV infection is needed. Recent studies of early therapeutic interventions and HIV-resistant cellular therapies have provided new insights into the development of HIV eradication strategies. The meeting will focus on all aspects of HIV persistence and eradication that include: (1) The understanding of persistent HIV infection; (2) Innate defenses against retroviral infection; (3) The interplay of the host inflammatory response and HIV pathogenesis; and (4) Novel concepts for viral eradication. Special attention will be paid to progress in the development of model systems to study latent infection as well as strategies to eradicate it. Emphasis will be placed on new, unpublished findings that will highlight novel insights and creative strategies to develop effective control and eradication of HIV infection.

View Meeting Program


Burroughs Wellcome Fund ECITA Scholarship Recipients

Daniel Mendoza
Michel E. DeBakey VA Medical Center, USA

Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Luis M. Agosto
Boston Medical Center, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Kirston M. Barton
University of Sydney, Australia

Amy E. Baxter
University of Pennsylvania, USA

Kenneth M. Law
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, USA

Alyssa R. Martin
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, USA

Marta Massanella
Université de Montréal, Canada

Maud Mavigner
Emory University, USA

Maria Salgado
AIDS Research Institute IrsiCaixa, Spain

Zoe R. Wallace
University of Oxford, UK

Zheng Wang
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, USA

Dionna W. Williams
Johns Hopkins University, USA

Anjie Zhen
University of California, Los Angeles, USA

Keystone Symposia Global Health Travel Award Recipients, funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Melissa-Rose Abrahams
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Adeyinka Samuel Adedokun
Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Nigeria

Adedayo Olubunmi Adeyemi
Center for Infectious Diseases Research and Evaluation, Nigeria

Oluwaseyi A. Ajagbe
University of Abuja, Nigeria

Tochi Ifeoma Cookey
University of Port Harcourt, Nigeria

Olubunmi Aderiyike Fakunle
Public Health Laboratory, Nigeria

Lana Gorenec
University Hospital for Infectious Diseases, Croatia

Amare Moreda Legesse
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Evelyn Lumngwena Ngwa
University of Cape Town, South Africa

Mitala Charles Lwanga
Uganda Virus Research Institute, Uganda

Edward Kithela Maina
Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research, Ghana

Job S. Mogire
Moi University, Kenya

Refilwe Phemelo Molatlhegi
University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Oluseyi Adebowale Olayinka
University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Omalla Allan Olwenyi
Makerere University Walter Reed Project/ UNMC, Uganda

Ambili Pananghat
Jamia Hamdard, India

Lissette Pérez
Tropical Medicine Institute, Cuba

Boitumelo Seraise
Bangor University, UK

Mujeeb Olushola Shittu
University of Lagos, Nigeria

Ravinder Singh
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, India

Urisha Singh
KwaZulu-Natal Research Institute for HIV and TB, South Africa

Luana Silva Soares
University of São Paulo, Brazil

Fregenet Tesfaye Tegegn
Armauer Hansen Research Institute, Ethiopia

Augustine Okechukwu Udeze
University of Ilorin, Nigeria