This meeting took place in 2017

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Viral Immunity: Mechanisms and Consequences (B4)

Organizer(s) Akiko Iwasaki, Daniel B. Stetson and E. John Wherry
February 19—23, 2017
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel • Santa Fe, New Mexico USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 18, 2016
Abstract Deadline: Nov 17, 2016
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 18, 2016
Discounted Registration Deadline: Dec 19, 2016

Sponsored by Gilead Sciences, Inc.

Summary of Meeting:
A clear understanding of the mechanisms of host immunity to virus infection will guide efforts to design better treatments for some of the most devastating diseases of humanity. The fields of virology and immunology often convene their own specialized meetings. However, each of these fields has matured to the point where the most transformative advances are likely to arise from cross-disciplinary insights, rather than from continued progress in an isolated area. This meeting will foster new interactions and generate new ideas by assembling international experts in the areas of evolutionary perspectives on the host-virus relationship, innate immune detection and control of endogenous and exogenous viruses, memory cell control of viruses at mucosal surfaces, immunological consequences of prior viral exposure, and new approaches to vaccines and therapeutics. This comprehensive and inclusive approach should spur new thinking. For example, a solution to the medically important issue of chronic viral infection and immune exhaustion may emerge from a better understanding of the history of these viruses and how they have shaped the immune response and vice versa over evolutionary time. Similarly, a rational approach to vaccine design must be rooted in the innate immune mechanisms by which cells detect and respond to virus infection. This Keystone Symposia meeting offers a unique opportunity to bring about the next advances in viral immunity through cross-disciplinary interactions.

View Meeting Program


National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Rossana Colon-Thillet
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, USA

Jessica K. Fiege
University of Minnesota, USA

Brian J. Laidlaw
University of California, San Francisco, USA

Tania Lebratti
Washington University in St. Louis, USA

Yew Ann Leong
Monash University, Australia

Michal Caspi Tal
Stanford University School of Medicine, USA