This meeting took place in 2018

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Immunological Memory: Innate, Adaptive and Beyond (X1)

Organizer(s) Rafi Ahmed, Susan M. Kaech and Joseph C. Sun
February 25—March 1, 2018
Hyatt Regency Austin • Austin, Texas USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 26, 2017
Abstract Deadline: Nov 29, 2017
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 26, 2017
Discounted Registration Deadline: Dec 21, 2017

Sponsored by AbbVie Inc. and EMD Serono Research and Development Institute, Inc.

Summary of Meeting:
This symposium will primarily focus on integrating current knowledge concerning the cellular and molecular regulation of memory T and B cell responses with their role mediating protection against infections. In addition to the significant impact these cell populations have on vaccination, emphasis will be placed on their therapeutic and pathogenic roles in cancer, autoimmunity and chronic infection. The innate immune response has a profound influence on the regulation of effector and memory T and B cell responses, and recent discoveries in this area bring forth a greater understanding of the major signals that govern both the formation and the long-term maintenance of these populations. These conceptual advancements will be a major part of the symposium. More recently, it has become clear that there is marked phenotypic and functional heterogeneity of T cell responses; how this affects immunological protection will be discussed. Finally, this symposium will include discussion of recent advances in assessing memory T and B cell responses in a sensitive manner in human and non-human primates, as well as murine systems, to enable better elucidation of the state of the immune response during infection and vaccination, which will lead to more rationale vaccine design.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Mireille Aline Santamaria Herrera
National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico

Mieszko M. Wilk
Trinity Biomedical Sciences Institute, Ireland

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Elena Brenna
University of Oxford, UK

Simone L. Park
Peter Doherty Institute at the University of Melbourne, Australia

Julia Prier
University of Melbourne, Australia