This meeting took place in 2016

Here are the related meetings in 2020:
The Global Virome in Health and Disease (C1)

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Cell Biology and Immunology of Persistent Infection (A8)

Organizer(s) Herbert (Skip) W. Virgin, E. John Wherry, Anne O'Garra and Andrea Lynn Cox
January 31—February 4, 2016
Fairmont Banff Springs • Banff, Alberta Canada
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 1, 2015
Abstract Deadline: Nov 3, 2015
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 1, 2015
Discounted Registration Deadline: Dec 1, 2015

Supported by the Directors' Fund

Summary of Meeting:
Persistent infections are a major source of morbidity and mortality around the world. However, it is increasingly clear that the bacterial microbiome, the virome and the mycobiome can have beneficial roles for the host. Chronic infections with pathogens represent a failure of sterilizing immunity, but the mechanisms responsible for persistence and the balance between host health and disease resulting from infection are not completely understood. Recent discoveries reveal that multiple components of both the infecting organism and the host response to infection determine infection outcome, illustrating that a range of disciplines must be brought together to understand the fundamental mechanisms of chronic infection. This meeting is designed to bring together diverse communities of researchers at the cutting edge of their fields to understand whether and how to manipulate persistent infections to prevent disease and enhance health.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Victor H. Carpio
Arbutus Biopharma, USA

Angela Pack
University of Georgia, USA

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Scholarship Recipients

Lila Ann Farrington
University of California, San Francisco, USA

Mary F. Fontana
University of Washington, USA

Heni Muflihah
Universitas Islam Bandung, Indonesia

Michael M. Opata
University of Texas Medical Branch, USA

Birendra Kumar Prusty
Institute of Life Sciences, India

Julia Rood
University of Pennsylvania, USA