This meeting took place in 2012

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Chromatin Dynamics (J4)

Organizer(s) Bradley R. Cairns and Geneviève Almouzni
January 17—22, 2012
Keystone Resort • Keystone, Colorado USA
Abstract Deadline: Sep 20, 2011
Late Abstract Deadline: Oct 20, 2011
Scholarship Deadline: Sep 20, 2011
Early Registration Deadline: Nov 17, 2011

Supported by the Directors’ Fund

Joint Meeting: Epigenomics (J3)

Summary of Meeting:
Cancer involves the misregulation of cell growth, proliferation, differentiation and death programs. These programs are all regulated at the gene expression level, and chromatin structures and modifications are fundamental regulators of these programs. Indeed, the regulation of many of the most important oncogenes and tumor suppressors operates either largely or in part through a chromatin regulatory mechanism. Furthermore, chromosomal instability and DNA hypomethylation are found in a majority of cancers. Here, one must understand both how these processes normally work and precisely how they are misregulated in cancer in order to design effective and targeted therapies. The 2012 Keystone Symposia meeting on Chromatin Dynamics aims to understand the mechanistic relationships between chromatin and transcription as well as between chromatin and DNA repair and stability, processes at the heart of cancer initiation, prevention, and treatment. Opportunities for interdisciplinary interactions will be significantly enhanced by the concurrent meeting on Epigenomics, which will share a keynote address and two plenary sessions with this meeting.

View Meeting Program


Keystone Symposia Future of Science Fund Scholarship Recipients

Jessica Chery
Brown University, USA

Erik Engelen
Erasmus Medical Center, Netherlands

Christof J. M. Gebhardt
Harvard University, USA

Jonathan I. Gent
University of Georgia, USA

Jung-Ae Kim
Korea Research Institute of Bioscience & Biotechnology, South Korea

Rena Levin-Klein
Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

Yi Mao
University of Washington, Seattle, USA

Yunsun Nam
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, USA

Olga Østrup
University of Oslo, Norway

Jennifer E. Phillips-Cremins
University of Pennsylvania, USA

Sharon E. Torigoe
University of California, San Diego, USA

Assaf S. Zemach
University of California, Berkeley, USA