This meeting took place in 2015

For a complete list of the meetings for the upcoming/current season, see our meeting list, or search for a meeting.

Neuroepigenetics (B5)

Organizer(s) Hongjun Song and Li-Huei Tsai
February 22—26, 2015
Eldorado Hotel & Spa • Santa Fe, New Mexico USA
Discounted Abstract Deadline: Oct 21, 2014
Abstract Deadline: Nov 19, 2014
Scholarship Deadline: Oct 21, 2014
Discounted Registration Deadline: Dec 18, 2014

Supported by the Directors' Fund

Summary of Meeting:
Following the completion of the Human Genome Project, much of biology’s focus has shifted from the raw sequence of genes to their regulation over time and in response to environmental stimuli, in which epigenetics represents a core mechanism. To date, an increasing body of evidence has surfaced indicating that multiple neurological disorders are, in part, caused by aberrant epigenetic modifications. While tremendous progress has been made in understanding epigenetic regulation of gene expression in the nervous system, researchers have yet to learn how the neural epigenome responds to positive (such as learning experiences, enriched environment) and negative (such as epilepsy, injury, stroke) signals as a whole and at the individual gene level, and how the epigenome is regulated at the molecular level. This knowledge is important to better understand normal brain development, plasticity and function and how the epigenome becomes malfunctioned in diseases. Different from proliferating cells commonly studied in epigegenetics, one major subject of the emerging new field of neuroepigenetics deals with various post-mitotic neurons. This Keystone Symposia meeting aims to bring together experts and pioneers in studying neuroepigenetics to provide an up-to-date and comprehensive picture of epigenetic mechanisms in neural development, plasticity, neuronal function and dysfunction. The program for this meeting is highly likely to attract a wide variety of investigators, many of whom might not otherwise interact.

View Meeting Program


Early Career Investigator Travel Award Recipients
made possible by National Institute for General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Funding

Diego Fernando Mastroeni
Banner Sun Health Research Institute, USA

Alika K. Maunakea
University of Hawaii, Manoa, USA

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Ancillary Training Program Scholarship Recipients

Michael Jay Corley
University of Hawaii, USA

Leah Nicole Hitchcock
Oregon Health & Science University, USA

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Scholarship Recipients

Gonca Bayraktar
Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology, Germany

Liana Fasching
Wallenberg Neuroscience Center, Lund University, Sweden

Matthew A. Lalli
University of California, Santa Barbara, USA

Xiang Li
Queensland Brain Institute, Australia

Chongyuan Luo
The Salk Institute for Biological Studies, USA

Ram Madabhushi
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Katie Schaukowitch
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, USA

Bing Yao
Emory University, USA